Too idealistic for my own good

One thing I absolutely hate about my part-time underemployment: it seems like the only thing anyone cares about at both jobs is money.

I’m so tired of money, from dealing with it at work to worrying about it in my own life. I was told today at the hotel to think about a decision from a business standpoint, and I immediately got defensive with the manager about it. I’m sorry, but making someone pay 2 nights for a room we are already overcharging in the first place when they only need one just doesn’t seem right to me. (Which honestly, being paid slightly more than minimum wage is not enough to think of decisions for myself from a business standpoint anyway, but to instead follow work guidelines. I was unsure about that specific weekend, so I asked the sales director who gave me the okay on booking for one night, which the GM wasn’t happy about. Whatever).

I didn’t major in business for a reason: I care too much about people’s well-being to screw them over. Simply put, there’s things that are just more important than money. People are still struggling in our economy, and I just don’t like not helping the matter, such as getting people to sign up for a credit card at the clothing store that will probably harm them more than provide any benefit. Plus, employees should be respected better than having hours taken away for 2 months without any notice or having to work over 10 hours during the snowpocalypse (okay so those are MY examples I’m still bitter about, but I’m not the only person treated poorly by employers).

While underemployed, I’ve had to start some soul-searching for a potential new career, and I wonder though if trying to find a line of work that doesn’t deal with money is just too idealistic.  I mean, the point of having a job is to make a living, and that money has to come from somewhere. For instance, a lot of the research positions I’ve applied for/interviewed at depend on grant money to support them. How much are those funds a major influence on these positions? Of course, that would require me to actually get hired somewhere to find out, but the general point is there.

If I do find such a career, this would definitely mean that I won’t make much money at it. But I’m okay with that. I really don’t need that much money: I don’t buy designer clothes, I can’t mentally handle living by myself so I’ll always at least need a roommate, and I’m only supporting myself and one cat anyway. After growing up in a family always financially struggling, all I want in that aspect of my life is to not have to worry. I’m tired of having to pass up eating dinner out with friends, or freezing in my apartment because I can’t afford to keep the heat up, or wondering if I can even afford to renew my lease. I can handle such stressors for now well enough, but not for the long haul. But all I want is just to one day not be concerned by that, which I don’t think that’s asking too much.

I need to find a happy medium at some point. I need a job that the primary focus is either contributing to better the field (yay research) or at least helping people in some way, shape, or form. For now though, I guess I just have to find a way to play nice with the money-hungry bosses while wearing a super-ugly sweater vest for a uniform.

This entry was posted in Underemployment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Too idealistic for my own good

  1. eemusings says:

    I am thankful to work in the editorial field and not deal with money/profit. (Of course the flip side is earning potential is significantly diminished….) Sure, our target is then reader numbers, but to me selling out for readership beats selling out for the bottom line.

  2. Pingback: Link love (Powered by pasta and caramel tempura) « Musings of an Abstract Aucklander

  3. Hear, hear! There are so many more important things in life than money. It’s just hard to make people see it.

Leave a Reply

