The interview for jobs I don’t want

I have another interview tomorrow. Unfortunately, it’s only for a part-time position at a front desk at a hotel for less than desirable shifts. In honor of this, I’m going to post the top 5 things I hate about interviewing for jobs I could do in my sleep.

  1. Figuring out where I need to go for the interview.
    A lot of times, wondering where the interview would take place or who to ask to find the location of the interview is tricky. Do I ask the cashier? Do I try to look around to find someone of higher standing? Usually, I choose the wrong option and give off the impression that I don’t know what I’m doing there while looking very awkward to those around me.
  2. Trying to make it sound like this is a job I really want to have.
    Do I really want any job at this point that would at least pay me something and keep me busy for a while? Yes. Did I go to school for 6 years and take out student loans to want to work at a bookstore, a bank, a gift shop, or a hotel? Absolutely not. Would I abandon this job (2 weeks notice to be fair) the second I got a better opportunity? Absolutely. These are not attributes employers at these companies are looking for. As much as I may try to make it sound like this is a golden career opportunity, they can see right through it.
  3. Answering the “tell me about a time…” questions.
    I hate these types of questions with a passion, such as “tell me a time you worked on a team” or “tell me about a time that you went above and beyond a customer’s expectations.” I’ve worked a lot of different jobs, and some of them that are the most relevant to these positions I worked a while ago. I’ve lived since then. I can’t usually come up with the most articulate answer on the spot, especially since each interviewer usually asks a question I previously haven’t had to answer and catches me off guard.
  4. Never hearing back after the interview
    One of my biggest pet peeves is when an interviewer claims they will let you know either way about their decision, then never follows through. This goes for interviews in general though (I suppose the statement above does as well to an extent). At least have the decency to keep your word and deal with disappointing me.
  5. Being rejected by these positions
    It’s one thing to be rejected by a real job that I may not be the ideal candidate for. It’s another to be rejected by a job I know I can easily do. It’s just annoying. My favorite rejection was by postcard. Nothing like checking your mail to see bills you can’t pay and jobs you can’t get to pay these said bills.

Out of all the part-time jobs I’ve interviewed for, this job is probably the least ideal of them all. The hours really suck and it would only be 3-4 days a week, mostly weekends. At this point, I can’t be choosy, so we’ll see how this goes.

This entry was posted in Job Hunt, Part-time Employment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment