You haven’t seen that movie?

I’ve heard that remark more times in my life than I care to admit. I haven’t seen a lot of movies, especially ones that the rest of the universe has seen. The ones I have seen, I have the absolute worst memory for them unless I’ve seen it multiple times. This travesty was so bad a few years ago that a movie list was created for me. Movies such as ET, Forrest Gump, and Back to the Future topped this list, and throughout the following year, progress was made to make me a little more movie-intelligent.

Grad school hit and progress on the list stopped. While I knocked out a huge chunk of the list, movies such as the Terminator and the Matrix still remain unseen. And I still feel sometimes that I have nothing to contribute to movie conversations amongst friends, making me feel like a complete sheltered idiot.

Now that I’m underemployed and have Netflix (smartest financial choice this past year), I have plenty of time to enroll myself in cinema education. I enlisted the help of a couple others to create a new list to add to the remaining movies of the old one, and my new goal is to watch as many as possible. Some movies I may still not watch, especially since for some reason this new list is filled with horror movies and I’m quite the pansy when it comes to stuff like that. But I might as well take advantage of all this extra time, now that I’m mostly caught up on my TV shows.

We’ll see how that goes.

This entry was posted in Extra Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You haven’t seen that movie?

  1. findingserenity2010 says:

    Some more blogs you should follow: Unemploymentality (http://unemploymentality.com/), Please Fire Me (http://pleasefireme.com/), Ms. Career Girl – latest post on hating your job (http://www.mscareergirl.com/2010/09/29/what-to-do-when-you-hate-your-first-job/)

    enjoy 🙂

  2. findingserenity2010 says:

    But thank goodness you’ve at least watched My Big Fat Greek Wedding 🙂

  3. eemusings says:

    I am the same. BF is the total opposite – seen everything ever made. I hear that phrase far too often.

    I’ve seen Forrest Gump as it comes on TV every single year, but only saw BTTF and ET in the last couple of years.

  4. Stop being silly. It’s ok to watch a movie or two from the distant past, but if you are struggling, you need to stop wasting your time. I’ve decided to write that novel and in the meantime do some boxing training – you might as well do something similar.

Leave a comment