Head in the clouds

I just had the best interview.

Okay, the interview wasn’t the best.  I got tongue-tied a lot, and I was super nervous. But it also was just a preliminary introduction-to-the-position type phone call, with no real direct questions just yet. The real interview will follow later, well hopefully.

The reason I say it was the best interview is that it was for the most ideal position so far.

I know I’m qualified for it. I know I would do awesome at it. I know it’s a job I would enjoy doing, something that I can apply my education toward. The perks of the job, not gonna lie, are more than I ever expected for my first real job as well. I’d have to relocate several states away for it, but part of me is excited for that too. Well, except for having to leave some very important people behind, of course, yet even that isn’t phasing me too much at the moment.

I can’t get my head out of the clouds. My hopes are up way high. After working last night again at the hotel, absolutely hating the job and being miserably yelled at by the snooty sales director for something completely outrageous, this potential opportunity seems amazing. All I wanted was a chance to do something with my degrees and have a chance to make something of myself, and here is that chance potentially within my reach. It seems way too good to be truly happening to me.

Except I’m far from getting the job at this point.

How will I be in a few weeks when I find out I did not get the position? Will it be a worse disappointment than I’ve experienced so far? Will I fall into a tree coming out of the clouds and come crashing down in despair?

I guess that will be something to deal with another day. That seems to be my philosophy about everything recently. I may regret that later, but right now I like the ‘head in the clouds’ feeling. I haven’t experienced it in a while.

This entry was posted in Job Hunt, Real Job! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Head in the clouds

  1. findingserenity2010 says:

    You are allowed to feel awesome, because you ARE awesome, dear! Just keep your options open and keep moving forward. It’s when you sit and don’t do anything but think you can have problems. But I think you’re doing just fine, given your situation.

    I’ll miss you if you move away, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed as usual 🙂

Leave a comment